Some Holidays Laugh….


On Christmas Day, our extended family got together to celebrate this special day. As we were winding down the night, a Christmas poem was read that brought tears to my eyes (from laughing so hard).

This poem was written by someone special to me,  Julian Stein, who by the way is 90 years old! 

I hope you enjoy this Christmas poem that he wrote which is a parody to “Twas the Night Before Christmas”

So here it goes….

Twas the night before Christmas
And all through the house
Not a a subprime was stirring,
Not even at Rouse
 

The stockings were hung by the chimney with care
In hopes that Saint Paulsen soon would be there.
The CEO’s were nestled all snug in their beds
While visions of bonuses danced in their heads.

When out on the roof I heard such a racket
I was certain I’d reached a higher income tax bracket
But what to my wondering eyes got my attention
Were eight tiny cars with eight tiny engines.                          
Paulsen whistled and shouted and called them in order.               On Chrysler, on GM, on Ford and Toyota.

But as dry leaves before the wild hurricane fly,
Merrlll and Lehman went up to the sky.
As I drew in my head and was turning around
Down the chimney Saint Paulsen came with a bound.  

He was chubby and plump and did not try to bluff it,
He looked like a cherub, or perhaps Warren Buffett.
His eyes – how they twinkled. His gaze, it was steady
As he pulled out some toys for Fannie and Freddie

And there in his pack was $700 Bill 
Showing to Wall Street he wished them no ill
More goodies came out as he opened his pack
For Morgan and Citi and all that might lack. 
 

But then faster than anything you’d care to mention,
He gave Bernie Madoff my grandmother’s pension.
And off he did go, that spry little elf,
And bought sixteen mansions, all for himself. 

But in spite of the shock at the nerve of the lout.
I rallied myself and was able to shout:
“Happy Christmes to all, and to all a BAILOUT”

Leave a Reply

